Facebook Twitter RSS My Europe
Schatten Schatten Schatten

future think tank

About Us

The FUTURE THINK TANK (Frankfurter Zukunftsrat) is a consortium of well-known public figures and academics. It is a not for profit and innovative think tank advocating a sustainable economy, society and politics in Germany and Europe.

The FUTURE THINK TANK aims at shaping a Germany and Europe which are well-equipped for the future. Against this background, we develop comprehensive and long-term concepts in five Future Councils. These working groups develop holistic, universal and future-looking approaches and focus on the themes of:

  • Global change
  • Economics and politics
  • Education
  • Ageing and health
  • Communication and the media

Our vision is a future-oriented and dynamic Germany that is well-prepared to create its future in a common Europe as well as in a globalized world. It has become obvious that the 21st century implicates profound changes whose consequences will to some extent only be grasped in the future. On the one hand globalization has dissolved physical borders; on the other hand it has created some barriers that exist in people’s minds.

Bigger entities than nation states as for example the European Union have become more and more important, however local and regional authorities have as well. Society has to manage major changes. Education and learning, integration of foreign citizens, demographic change, worries about the state of the planet (e.g. the danger of global warming) but also fears related to religion and culture call for a meaningful and peacemaking course of action in the future.

Our Board of Directors consists of:

Vorsitzende des Vorstands: Sylvia von Metzler Chairwoman:
Sylvia von Metzler
Stellvertretende Vorsitzende: Kristina Gräfin Pilati Deputy Chairwoman:
Kristina Gräfin Pilati
Heinrich Deichmann Chairman of the Board of Patrons:
Heinrich Deichmann
Schatzmeisterin: Gerhild Börsing Treasurer:
Gerhild Börsig
Geschäftsführendes Vorstandsmitglied: Prof. Dr. Manfred Pohl Executive Manager:
Prof. Dr. Manfred Pohl
Dr. Ralf Vogt Member:
Dr. Ralf Vogt
Björn Graf Bernadotte